Empty

IMG_2518

IMG_2515

Some days, like yesterday and today, the words won’t come. I sit and stare at the blinking cursor and realize that my mind is completely blank. It’s not necessarily an unpleasant thing, my brain works overtime most of my days anyhow, but it’s still disconcerting. I flipped through pages and pages of the book I was reading and told myself “I want to write like this one day. One day I will.” Yet how can I when I give up so soon after having begun? Β Too many days I sit in front of blank pages and wait. Sometimes I just write whatever is in my head. More often than not I just don’t write. Some days I have too many words in my brain and they pour out onto the page. There’s times when I’ll nitpick at those words, although I try not to. Most times I tear the page out and crumble it up. Once again I find myself empty. Too often there’s a black void inside of me that can only be filled by creating something with words. My words. Yet too often, I cannot.

7 thoughts on “Empty

    • You’re right, of course. I tell myself this often as well. Some days I follow this advice, most days I rip out the pages written during the time when I did follow this advice. I’m trying to get better at releasing the words without destroying them. It’s the writing that matters, right?

      Like

    • I agree! Last year I chose a theme and even then it was difficult, especially when it came to the X, Y, and the Z letters. This year is a bit easier because I am writing with a bit less structure, of course choosing a word for each post that begins with the letter but not necessarily using the actual word in my writing. Free writing I’m calling it. πŸ˜„ Thank you so much for reading and good luck with the rest of the challenge! πŸ€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

